++ Alter Bridge - Fortress ++ PreOrder NOW!!  
Go Back   CreedFeed Community > The Bands & The Music > Scott Stapp Talk
Today's Posts «

Old 08-16-2004, 03:22 AM   #1
MrSeeker
USER INFO »
Currently: Offline
Scott Stapp Christian interview

I dont know if anyone has posted this, but here ya go.

First things first: Why did Creed break up?

Scott Stapp: Mark [Creed guitarist Mark Tremonti] and I had been working together for the last ten years. There comes a point with any collaboration like that where you start having other interests creatively. I was moving in one direction musically, and as a guitar player, Mark wanted to move in another direction. That was essentially the reason we broke up. Those feelings actually started happening right after Human Clay (1999), and we went ahead and made Weathered (2001) together. [Tremonti and Creed drummer Scott Phillips went on to form a new band, Alter Bridge, whose debut album releases on Wind-Up Records on August 10.]

Sounds like it was a friendly break-up.

Stapp: When something like that happens, people want to try to find some dirt and make it more of a soap opera. But I think we both walked away with the door still open, if we want to do something together again. So yeah, I would call it a friendly break-up.

How did you get involved in the Passion songs project?

Stapp: They flew me out to a private screening of the film last summer, and to meet Mel Gibson, to kind of get a vibe on what was going on.

So, the film moved you to the point where you felt like you had to write a song?